The results are in! The six winners of the Red Bull Megaloop Porsche Qualifier Series have been announced. Out of 18 qualitative video entries, these six riders have been selected by the Red Bull Megaloop Sports Committee, and they will be added to the final riders list for the 2022 edition. Best of luck to all the participants!

The winners of the Red Bull Megaloop Porsche Qualifier Series are:

Lorenzo Casati – Italy

Cohan van Dijk – Netherlands

Jason van der Spuy – South Africa

Andrea Principi – Italy

Jamie Overbeek – Netherlands

Luca Ceruti – South Africa

Red Bull Megaloop judges stated: “This year, we’ve seen an incredibly high riding level. The group of riders specializing in extreme big air kiteboarding continues to grow and push each other. Judging based on video submissions is always challenging as riders are filming at different locations and in various conditions. Nonetheless, the following six names stood out and will be given an entry to the 2022 Red Bull Megaloop event in the Netherlands.”

All these six riders will make their debut at Red Bull Megaloop. Ruben Lenten, a member of the sports committee, mentioned:

“Each year the bar gets raised in terms of height, risk, control, tricks and style. It’s epic to follow and see the evolution of the sport.”

Videos were judged individually by each judge from the Red Bull Sports Committee. From that ranking, a group judging session was initiated to make a final ranking which was agreed upon unanimously. The committee judged on extremity, execution, and flow also considered conditions, gear, lines, height, distance, risk, tricks, control, and style. All submitted videos can be found here.

“Red Bull Megaloop has always been about seeing who performs the most extreme megaloop. That’s why we wait for the ultimate storm to hit the Dutch shores so that the top 16 riders can break boundaries. During this event it is not about how many tricks you can do, it’s about nailing your most insane megaloop, which is often a megaloop variation or combo.” – Ruben Lenten

When the right storm hits the Dutch coast, Red Bull Megaloop will take place at the Spot, Zandvoort Beach, the Netherlands. With winds above 35 knots, these kiteboarders will show their biggest and best megaloops. From Friday, April 1 – to November 1, we’re all on standby to wait for mother nature to give us the perfect conditions.

The full list of 16 riders for Red Bull Megaloop 2022 is:

  1. Ross-Dillon Player (RSA)
  2. Oswald Smith (RSA)
  3. Lasse Walker (NL)
  4. Marc Jacobs (NZ)
  5. Kevin Langeree (NL)
  6. Stig Hoefnagel (NL)
  7. Liam Whaley (SPA)
  8. Joshua Emanuel (RSA)
  9. Janek Grzegorzweski (POL)
  10. Giel Vlugt (NL)
  11. Lorenzo Casati (ITA)
  12. Cohan van Dijk (NL)
  13. Jason van der Spuy (RSA)
  14. Andrea Principi (ITA)
  15. Jamie Overbeek (NL)
  16. Luca Ceruti (RSA)

Now the list is complete, let’s keep our fingers crossed for the perfect storm to hit the Dutch coast. For more information on the Red Bull Megaloop Porsche Qualifier Series, please click here.

Wed 30th Mar, 2022 @ 6:00 pm

By Jen Tyler
Jen Tyler grew up in the chaos of Cairo, Egypt. It was on the beaches of the Red Sea where her love for the ocean, water sports and adventure grew.

We Recommend

Featured in this Post